Ordering uConsole now - what to read up on while waiting?

Hello all, I am ordering now (well, in two weeks) a uConsole.

I know there is a bit of a wait - and I want to use that wait to read up, download soft, get accessories etc.

I am a relative newbie when it comes to the Raspberry Pie and a total newbie to the uConsole.

Would you have any recommendations to what I should read up on; what sd card images I should download; what must have accessories I should buy (other than the batteries - which I already have)?

Thank you so much for any pointers!

1 Like

You may start from here: clockworkpi · GitHub

Thank you. Yes, I have seen that. I am a bit lost with the content on the GitHub - that is why I was hoping for some additional suggestions!

There are some expansion stuff like the uPico and uHub on tindie that replaces the 4G expansion board

1 Like

have you used Linux before? the only images (for now) that work with the uConsole are the ones provided by Clockwork. And they are not as beginner friendly as Linux Mint or Ubuntu as they’re based off a custom Debian image. I would recommend switching from LXDE/XFCE as the provided DE’s to a friendlier DE like Gnome, KDE, or Cinnamon. Cinnamon hasn’t impacted the performance of my CM4 unit.
so, if you’re not familiar with Linux, I’d recommend you download VirtualBox by Oracle (free to download https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads) and Raspberry Pi OS 64-bit (Operating system images – Raspberry Pi) and spin up a virtual machine because that’s basically the Clockwork OS, but the Clockwork OS has a bunch of custom scripts/code for uConsole specific things so idk if using Clockworks OS will work in a VM.
Also, the uConsole comes with a 32gb SD card pre-installed with this image. You’ll have about 25gb of free space, which, up to you, might or might not be enough space.
In this thread people linked a few screen protectors that fit the uConsoles screen