18650 battery recommendations for beginners?

Since the DevTerm requires 18650 batteries, I’ve been looking to get some before my Devterm arrives. I’ve never used 18650 batteries before, so I went to the forum to find more information. After some research, I realized that 18650 batteries are more complicated than regular batteries. I also realized that I don’t actually know where to start in terms of choosing batteries. Do any of you have recommendations or advice on which batteries I should get and where to buy them? Hopefully, seeing other’s opinions on this topic will help point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for the help!

3 Likes

I researched a few different capacities… I may have bought to large a capacity not sure of capability with the charging circuit on the DivTerm but they are available on Amazon: 18650 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery 3.7V 9900mah Large Capacity Lithium Batteries Safe Accessories for LED Flashlight, Emergency Lighting, Electronic Devices etc. 4/8 Pieces (Yellow) (4 pcs) $13.98…(typically they are 3000 mah capacity…

Ther is a lot of info… and im giving you a lot to go thru… but it is my hope that after all this, you should feel al little more comfortable make a decision. If after all this study, you still have queries, I invite you to ask and we can start discourse.

1 Like

that sounds like a fake…
anything over 3500 is not likely real… :frowning:
do not buy from amazon. they are littered with fake cells.
check out the links and you’ll find better TRUSTED sources to obtain your cells from

can you name a few “trusted” sources please?

read everything in the two posts i linked and you would have found what you are looking for…
unless you want me to buy you the batteries too…

i used the search feature to pull posts that already contained detailed answers and link them for you… the least you can do is read them…

From what I can gather from the video sources you kindly together here

[check] protected cells