Advice for people with no hardware programming background knowledge

Hi,

I am a front-end developer who is amazed with the idea of creating your own game and play it on a retro gaming console. However I had no background knowledge in hardware programming. So my question is:

1. what is the essential knowledge in order to access to the gameshell hardware
  2. I am learning python now, is there any other programming knowledge I should get familiar with?

During my free times, I work on a mobile game with the help of game engine(Unity), I also tried on creating 3D experience on web using js library like babylon.js. I understand those experience might not help much in terms of hardware programming, so if there is any advices I will be much appreciated.

Thank you!

3 Likes

You say you know python? Perfect, you can do game development with it using a module called “pygame”. Pygame is a python wrapper for a graphics library called SDL. This works very well for 2D game development. For getting started, just look up “python pygame tutorial” on YouTube and find a series that clicks with you. For 3D games, “pyglet” can be used (it’s a python wrapper for OpenGL), but can be a bit trickier than pygame for some.

For others that don’t know python well, the GameShell also comes with C, Lua, Node.js, and Lisp (likely the dialect Common Lisp). For Lua there is Löve2D (another SDL wrapper) and for Common Lisp you can look into the book “Land of Lisp” which teaches Common Lisp through making games (more text-based, but Lisp is valuable to learn as a developer). As for C and Node.js, the former is a bit daunting for beginners but using OpenGL is how you’d want to start and for the former just look through npm for whatever tickles your fancy in the constantly changing JavaScript ecosystem.

3 Likes