How to add volume control in stand alone emulators

In the main menu and Retroarch, you can use shift + select/start to control the volume but in the stand alone emulators or other apps you can’t. So is there a way to add this feature ? I have no knowledge about coding so i don’t know what to do. Sorry for my poor English.

I’m no expert, but I assume it’s not an easy change. When you use the buttons in RetroArch, it’s a RA setting that changes. So you’d need the same for every standalone emulator.

Someone wrote a script to do this for Pico-8. It sets up hooks for the volume buttons and then launches Pico-8, all within the same script. It’s essentially a wrapper for Pico-8.

The same thing could be adapted to launch anything else, and assuming you didn’t need those buttons for the thing you were launching (like Retroarch), it should work.

Might be nice if someone tweaked this script a bit to be more generic and maybe take a single parameter for the target application to launch. Then it could be used in scripts and could take over the volume keys for anything.

It would be even nicer if this was done properly, as a system service (and maybe more efficiently). Just a guess, but I imagine most of us would want the volume buttons to work most of the time. If there was a way to override them (disable the service via a command when launching the target application), that would probably make more sense. Then if you wanted to use the volume buttons for something else, you could, but by default they would actually control the volume.

Anyhow, this might be useful if someone wants to tinker:

1 Like

There’s no big change !

Look there :

The script enables you to control volume via select + left/right and brightness via select + up/down everywhere.

I personnally changed the values of amount volume modification to 4 because 20 is too much.