Retroarch: Audio but no picture

Hi, all. I just got my GameShell in the mail today as my inaugural Father’s Day gift, and I think it’s pretty cool… Except I’m having trouble actually playing any retro games on it.

I’m a total layman when it comes to most Linux and/or code stuff, so apologies if the answer to this is super simple. My most recent experience has been with a RetroPi.

I had no trouble configuring RetroArch on the GameShell (including adding my RetroAchievements login info to the config file), moving my games onto the SD card or downloading cores. However, any time I load up a game I can hear it boot and up and start running, but I can’t actually see anything – the screen is just pure white or pure black, depending on the system. I’ve tried multiple cores across multiple systems, and they all have the same problem.

Weirdly, if I try playing an original GameBoy game, the white of the screen I’m shown is Game Boy proportioned, but I still don’t actually see the game.

I tried adhering to the RetroArch MegaThread’s setting suggestions for drivers, video and audio, but it didn’t seem to make any difference.

I’m on stable 1.24 with an up-to-date launcher (I guess?). Any suggestions on what the issue might be?

if it’s ok
you can record a video ?

:slight_smile:

Sure. It’s not very interesting, but it shows what I’m talking about.

(I took a few seconds to scroll through ROMs to get to one I knew had sound right at bootup.)

Another thing to note: When I hit the menu button, the sound stops as if I’ve pause the game and opened up the RetroArch menu… but the screen is still blank. I showed that in the video, too. I have to power down the device just to get back to a usable state.

In further testing I got maybe a single frame of a GBA game to appear at boot, but then the image just froze on that frame. It’s as if the video driver is crashing but everything else is working normally.