uConsole build phone

I would be interested to try to build a phone from uConsole and experiment in using it daily, however I’m not very experienced in electronics.

Absolute necessity for this is a microphone and speaker. Any ideas how those could be added, looking at board renders? Probably mini size of mic and speaker could be simply added to 3.5 jack.

Nice to have would be a camera. AFAIS expansion port is already taken by 4G module, so the only port left is GPIO on top, but looks like it’s designed for screen, right?

1 Like

Easiest fix, use a bluetooth headset

1 Like

it’s not that easy actually

bluetooth headset wont’ work

right now the only way to call ,and hear the sound from calling is to use headset, with wire

the SIM/4G audio is independent

2 Likes

One of the first things I thought of when I saw the uConsole had a 4G LTE module was: can I make/receive phone calls with this?

A more concrete question: is something like creating a Voice over LTE (VoLTE) program possible using the available hardware? I’m inclined to think that it is possible but I am not familiar with this hardware/software ecosystem.

I thought 3G, 4G, EDGE, GPRS etc are only relating to data? As long and you have an active SIM with a telco, and the towers are the frequency the uConsole supports, you’ll be right for voice only? Maybe that info is a bit old now, maybe all voice to n mobile is now basically voIP? Feeling old. CDMA is dead now right?

That’s my hunch yeah, so I feel that creating a program that can communicate with cell towers in a way that emulates making/receiving voice calls should be workable.

“GSM/GPRS/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900MHz”
Btw, GSM is in the list of bands, so voice should work probably.

During a GSM call, speech is converted from analogue sound waves to digital data by the phone itself, and transmitted through the mobile phone network by digital means.

2 Likes