User friendly / advice

I am fresh into the world of coding and have essentially now knowledge of the sorts. I am wondering if this is a good product to purchase, peoples recommendations on which model to buy. Does anyone have any sources that they can point me to where they started, such as books, videos or forums? I would love to get into the space but simply do not know where or how to do so.

I would like to use the devterm as a mini web browser, emulator, and note taking backpack size traveler.

I am also curious if anyone has ordered recently, how long the expected shipping time is to the US. Thank you in advance!

I don’t own a Clockwork product myself yet (just preordered the uConsole) but when I started learning programming back in 2009 I would have loved something like this. The only remotely similar thing back then afaik was the Pandora (an open/hackable handheld) which got stuck in production hell. Mine didn’t arrive 'till 2014, by which time I’d kinda outgrown the need for it. :frowning:

In 2012 the Raspberry Pi came out which was a game-changer! I learned so much from it. Got lots of hands-on experience with Linux, used it to run chat bots, game servers, could even SSH into it from school to do assignments and compile stuff! To me this is basically the evolution of that, a tiny DIY portable computer running open hardware & software. For getting “real work” done, a laptop may be a better option… but for learning, tinkering, and on-the-go creativity this is basically a dream come true.

Anyways, for learning materials it really helps to have a project in mind before starting! I’d suggest looking for material on:

1. The Linux terminal and tools (e.g. The Missing Semester of Your CS Education, A brief introduction to the Unix command-line)