What are you using your uConsole for?

Now that people have started receiving/using their uConsoles, I’m curious to see what they are being used for. I am betting there are fun and useful tools/apps/applications already being leveraged by the community.

So, what are you doing with your uConsole?

I’ll go first - I am a newbie to the space so right now I am just figuring out how to update the OS and install applications.

3 Likes

I have the R-01 module, at the moment just attempting to get it to work the way I want. Took awhile to get it to auto login to my account and not cpi. I have also started listing issues on the page where we get images. To be fair they did warn us it is a work in progress. Will likely switch to CM4 at some point as I know the RPI stuff much better.

The plan is to have something way more portable than a laptop when out in the coffee shops. Light weight programming and basically the usual take over the world type stuff.

7 Likes

I’m also very curious if you could try gqrx and an RTL-SDR (or similar) and see how it handles that!

2 Likes

Unlikely the R-01 module could handle any of that, it has a hard time with most things.

3 Likes

I ordered an A-06 unit, I’d like to think it’ll have enough power to run an SDR.

3 Likes

I think there has been some success with the A06 devterms there.

3 Likes

Software infancy aside, it’s also a single core @ 1Ghz max…

It’s more for development and engagement in the budding RISC ecosystem.

2 Likes

I’ve ran those on DevTerm A-06 … so I know the Clockwork pi hardware will support but those are processor heavy applications…

1 Like

Does the wider screen ratio on the DevTerm work nicely to see a wider area on the waterfall?

yes it was a nice display - only issue is A06/screen locks up … so when I’m listening to radio and don’t keep the mouse moving screen locks… it still decodes! even while the screen locks up but on an external screen you can restart… also via ssh