How to use RetroArch in Gameshell?

I downloaded several cores and copied my own ROM, but still cannot play.

1 Like

Since most of us on the forum still have not received our Game Shells yet (so we haven’t tried it ourselves), you may want to contact help@clockworkpi.com for assistance with any technical issues getting the Game Shell to work.

Or perhaps PM users who have got it to work (gray area the emulator zone) :wink:

I’m a RA dev, just received mine.
Key layout seems completely broken.

Is the joystick actually a keyboard?

I’ll try to figure it out give me a couple days :slight_smile:

1 Like

ok, step 1, ssh into the thing, then do

nano .config/retroarch/retroarch.cfg

Find unified_menu_controls and enable it (true)

Now you can control the menu :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Ok so far input is a chore because keypad is… well a keyboard and that sucks, but it can be worked around at least.

For some reason the video is initialized as 960x720? so you have to set a custom viewport (it’s done with a default config in the CPI)

Why? can’t we use native 320x240 and save some CPU?

2 Likes

With some tinkering managed to build a workable version of gpsp (faster than mgba), working dynarec and all, it’s running fullspeed

You can get it here: https://files.andressm.org/d/439d852b9ed243f9b296/

I’ll keep adding stuff I fix to that folder.

3 Likes

How do you install the package?

What package? it’s just a core, download the .so file and move it into ~/config/.retroarch/cores

The SoC is not half bad, it’s the SoC in the NES/SNES Classic.
I hope we get GPU drivers sometime.

After a day of tinkering I got this:

2 Likes

Tried your gpSP but with the RetroArch built in but cannot get any rom work with it. Is it necessary to upgrade the RetroArch or additional configuration is needed?

You need a bios file