I work with liion and lifepo4 cells and batteries. I ordered a uConsole, this is my story

Hello beloved community. First time I post here.
I’m a software dev, and I’m a passionate renewable energy amateur hobbist. But I have some background knowledge in electrical engineering, but never graduated.

I ordered a A04 uConsole and I became curious about its 18650 option, as I’m familiar with NiMh, Li-ion, LifePo4 and most likely will be working with LTO in the near future and so on.

I have solar panels I installed myself at home, powering my self-made battery, made out of 300 li-ion 18650 cells, most of them taken out from non working laptops, abandoned battery packs, etc (this took me like 2 years and the battery is still growing day after day…)

I thoroughly tested each of these cells before putting them at work:. All of the “not-good-enough” / “dead” /“Dangerous-cells” are in the “sorry, but-I-have-no-use-for-you” basket, to be properly discarded when I have the chance.

Now that a uConsole is on his way home, I will like to know more about the charging circuitry and tech specsheet regarding this area in particular, if possible

My idea in the future is to:

• Try to recharge the uConsole batteries with sun power (or wind, or even hand crank, like emergency radios have, who knows) without removing them, by calculating and setting proper BMS, solar panel(s) and all stuff.

This will be part of a side project with it, in parallel with software development of course.

Of course, you can ask me anything about these topics, and I will be willing to help out.

Thank you in advance!
A.

5 Likes

I’ve gone down a similar path to a shorter distance. Bought about 200 used laptop batteries from a local repair shop. Tore them down, tested and sorted them by capacity. Removed the duds.

For the recharging in situ thing, it should be simple to present acceptable input voltage to the uconsole, probably usb 5v. I assume its designed to charge like a phone.

2 Likes