Metal case for dev term?

I have a small question guys, do you think is possible to take the design files and make a metal case for the devterm?. And there is any service for this that you know?.

1 Like

look at the DevTerm Ops Shell thread there are files to print with a 3d printer. you could do it in metal… i prefer the polymer case for weight reasons.

Custom Keyboard and Custom ITX case people should be very familiar with this…

Aluminum will be heavy, Mg-Al maybe even more expensive, also CNC and anodizing will need deep pocket if you want be perfect.

(Finally you will get a >1kg Aluminum pocket pc case and a empty wallet… :upside_down_face:)

2 Likes

@NekoRouter I think we have enough money for a metal one and maybe sealing the device properly. There are many other things we might want to do but in my case I am new to this after like decade and a half of not even design a simple pcb for a sensor… I am out of skills and re-entering as always is scary and awful XD.

@MHam68HC11 I aw some, will try to contact a company to see if they can help with teh requierements. Everyone will love to get gps in to this and also need to see if we can get the 8GB ram raspberry :S.

CM4 8GB (w/ wifi, and no MMC) works great in my Devterm. I’m probably going to swap it over to the uConsole when it arrives. I got lucky and was able to get one (not from ClockworkPi of course) after i ordered the uConsole. Had the A06 in the Devterm before the CM4.

@adcockm bene trying to search for one, I’ve been trying to think in how to up the system as will be used as a field computer with multiple sensors and systems. Bene thinking also in to the GPS and other stuff and the procesisng capabilities to be able to connect it trough network and have some encrypted communication too.