Need big help with clockworkpi

ok so i tried updating the os to v0.5 and failed miserably and ended up accidentally deleting the clockwork pie OS all together, i keep trying to download v0.4 to a SD card but nothing is working. every time i try to flash it it fails. if i buy a new development board will it come with a new micro SD with the OS? or is there a way to save my clockwork pi without buying a new development board. im a begninner with tech but i guess messing up is a part of the learning experience. if anyone has any answers please let me know. thank you.

ps if possible i just wanna stay in v0.4 since i hear v0.5 is buggy

You don’t need to buy a new board.
You are probably not flashing the image to the SD card properly. How are you copying it to the SD card? BalenaEtcher is probably the easier way to flash images:

i downloaded that program and tried flashing it there. i clicked the download link. should i use the url download instead of the other one then? also which version do you recommend i upgrade to. 0.4 or 0.5

like the first time i tried doing it got halfway in balena then at the end says it failed. so idk what im doing wrong.

have you unziped the img downloaded?

no but ill try. i also dont remember being able to unzip

if you are on windows , you can use the 7zip, which is a free software , able to extract the clockworkpi os image file

when it done
the file will be about size of 2.5gb

okay and thanks for the advice. good to know this community is alive and friendly :smile:

1 Like

also the size was not 2.5 it was like 7.3 for me and whenever i try putting it on the sd card it just says its too big.

The compressed file should be around 2.5 Gb, uncompressed would be more.

For instance the 0.5 is 1.7Gb compressed with the extension .bz2 when uncompressed is 6.1Gb with the extension .img

To flash you need to use the .img

You could use

win32diskimager