I can’t use RetroArch!

I got devterm(A06) and installed RetroArch.
But I don’t know how to fix it.

Oof, looks like you’re missing the assets bundle for retroarch. How’d you install it? Via the Armbian package, or through the Ubuntu PPA?

1 Like

Thanks!
I installed via the Ubuntu PPA.

Ah! I ran into the same thing. I think that PPA copy of Retroarch points it’s config at the wrong directories by default.

I opened up /home/cpi/.config/retroarch/retroarch.ccg and changed these two entries:

libretro_directory = "/usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/libretro/"
libretro_info_path = "/usr/share/libretro/info/"

Once that’s done it should work. If it still looks goofy, try installing the retroarch-assets package from apt.

I tried that.
However, I am in trouble because it doesn’t go well even if I do both.

I’m a beginner and may be wrong.
Could you tell me how to install retroarch-assets from apt?

Ah, not a worry! You can search for things using the apt command:

apt search retroarch

And that prints out:

cpi@clockworkpi-a06:~$ apt search retroarch-assets
Sorting... Done
Full Text Search... Done
retroarch-assets/hirsute,hirsute,now 1.4.1+git20170209+dfsg1-1 all [installed,auto-removable]
  RetroArch assets for XMB, GLUI and Zarch

That last couple of lines tells me what packages that apt found, and retroarch-assets is in that list. So, now that I know the name of the package I’m looking for, I can use sudo apt install retroarch-assets -y to install it:

cpi@clockworkpi-a06:~$ sudo apt install retroarch-assets -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
retroarch-assets is already the newest version (1.4.1+git20170209+dfsg1-1).

Now restart RetroArch and it should have the correct logos and fonts now.

1 Like

Is it OK?
But something wrong,

What’s your systemwide language setting? If not English, might be the issue. I think you can set it using “sudo armbian-config”.