Raspberry PI 4B

Hello all,
I am new to this, I jus ordered uConsole few weeks ago, but I have some ideas,
for example, has anyone considered producing an alternative backplate to acomodate full size
Raspberry 4 so we could make use od full RPI4 connectivity.
I would imagine the major ports (USB, ETH and external RPSMA port on the top) and other ports
(audio, microHDMI on the left) and last but not least 40 pin GPIO on the bottom-center of the device

Best regards, and keep up te good work
Mario Lohajner

1 Like

While conceptually possible, to make a CM3 carrier board to RPI4b adapter - it would need multiple forwarding cables for usb, dsi, gpio, audio, etc into the CM3 adapter. All this would hamper portability which seems antithetical to the uconsole goals. It would also need new dtb overlays in the kernel.

Unless you mean swapping out the mainboard entirely and using it as a shell? That would loose the power and battery circuitry which lives in the mainboard.

A fun idea but probably not anything people are working on.

1 Like

Agree with @NanoCodeBug 's “A fun idea but probably not anything people are working on.”

But it should be not that hard, since RPi4 has MIPI DSI output, unlike pi zero, so you should be able to get full function with uConsole. A CM3-like daughter board and some fpc cable should work.

If you can desoldering ports, you can make it smaller like this:

1 Like

Ofcourse,
I mean using the form factor: display, keyboard and trackpad and dir-pad woud reamin exactly as they are.
Rerute the display cable and connect one of the USB2 connectors to frontend (keyboard and mouse) no need for adapters of any kind, just replace the motherboard with RPI4 and replace the backcover / backplate while retaining current look and feel which is excellent. (the wire stand and everything)