gpSP+ not running pokemon roms

The GBA emulator is running all the gba roms I have seemlessly, execpt for Pokemon emerald, firered or liquid crystal. Please help. system is brand new, OS is exactly as came out of the box

Hey, have a look at this post. That should solve your problem.

1 Like

newb question, do I copy the text or there an actual file on GitHub?

Hey, it’s an actual file you download from github. If you download the release file, you can then just copy it over.

1 Like

And it goes into the emulators folder? I’m sorry, I’m very new to this.

Yup! That’s where it goes. :slight_smile:
You’ll still need to decompress the contents of the release file, and find the file in question to copy over. In fact it might even be a good idea to copy over everything, since it could potentially be newer and better optimised.

But hold on for about 20 minutes or so. I’m about to upload a new release of my custom build that is explicitly catered to newer users with a lot of the essentials emulators, fixes (such as this one) and optimisations pre done. It could save you a lot of time.
That said, if you want the satisfaction of doing things yourself, definitely continue to use the vanilla 0.5 OS.

1 Like

Cool! Were to I to use this custom build, is there a video tutorial on how to migrate it over? And will I lose the hour of progess I made Zelda?

1 Like

Where will you be uploading it? I would very much like to try it out

1 Like

Yes and no. If you just update to the new OS without saving your progress to your computer, you will lose it.
By installing a new OS, you’ll essentially be completely wiping your device.
To copy your save file, go to /home/cpi/apps/emulators/ and locate the file called zelda.cfg, zelda0.svs, zelda1.svs etc. The cfg file is gpSP’s way of saving the save ram data of the ROM. The svs files are the save states. Copy them somewhere on your computer.