Noob Here! Need some help on what this all means

My wife just ordered me a Gameshell kit for Christmas and I’m real excited to get started. I’ve never worked much with computers, so I am trying to figure all this out. Can anyone point me in the right direction on what I should do first with my device and how to get the most out of it. I’m more interested in NES, SNES and Gameboy games, but I also want the games to run smoothly and work perfectly. I’ve been seeing posts about different OSs and don’t understand that much.

Again, all detailed help is much appreciated. I’d love to be able to contribute to the community in the future, I just need help now.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

hi and welcome in the community :slight_smile:

latest official os is 0.4, based on this one the community done some improvement,
latest one, who’s full featured is Custom D.E.O.T. V1.0+/Clockwork OS v0.4 image - With Updated Kernel 5.3.6, Latest Lima Drivers, RA1.8.1, Mupen64+ and much more! (Current version: 191122)

so, when you will receive your unit you may want flash a sd card with the os image and just insert it into the gameshell

for systems you wanna play all you’ll have to do in a second time after you’ll have connect your unit into your local network using wifi will be to transfer yours roms using an ftp software like by example filezilla in the good folders

optionally add bios for emulated system like neogeo & psx

some other project will require you to access the unit through ssh (Secure Shell Interface) and type obscure commands to compile &| setup others programs, games and emulators, but for a basic gaming usage all is easy

1 Like

I don’t know what it means to flash an SD card with the OS image and would appreciate help. I have some ROMS for a GB, PS1 and NES game I own. Should those be fairly simple to put on the device?

1 Like

flash the system on an sd card is pretty simple, just select the iso, the sd card and click flash