RetroArch Asking for Login

Let me start off by saying that I am an amateur at this. But I have been proceeding carefully, reading and searching the forums for answers, and really had a mostly flawless experience so far.

Long story made short: In my final steps of setting up, RetroArch was updated and now is asking for “clockwork pi login:” followed by a password.

Not having a keyboard attached makes it impossible to enter anything.

Before I uninstall RetroArch and reinstall it, I wanted to see if there was an obvious answer that I am missing? It seems like a start up parameter was dropped during the update, but I have no idea how to reinstate it.

It is asking for a password ON the gameshell? You aren’t ssh’d into the device or anything?
Provide some pictures if you can.

PS - This might be more suited for the retroarch megathread RetroArch Megathread as it pertains specifically to retroarch.

If this login prompt is shown on the GameShell screen upon rebooting then this is not related to the RetroArch.

This means that the proper boot sequence is not working as expected. This is normal for a linux system, which is what the GameShell is. Normally, you would not see this, it should start the Launcher and you would see the “normal” GameShell screen with the icons.

My only recommendation is that you backup anything you might have put on the GameShell and start over by putting the Clockwork OS image on the SD Card again.

Gameshell works as expected. The system boots up with no issues, presents the same menu as usual. When I select RetroArch on the menu, it starts the app, then comes up with the log in screen.

What I did:

1. Assembled the Gameshell.

2. Plugged it in to charge the battery.

3. I was going to give it time to charge, but it autobooted.

4. Everything worked. Set up wi-fi, transferred some files through WinSCP. Tested it out. No issues. Did an update through the GS.